Get Funky UK style

August 31, 2010

This will be completely dedicated to UK Funky House and some of my favourite tunes. Great music to put you in the party mood, fantastic to dance to and to keep you awake whilst driving.

Crazy Cousinz – Bongo Jam

Don’t really know who sings this but it’s remixed by Crazy Cousinz who are big in the UK funky house scene. Her name might be Calista but I’m not sure. Love it and it makes me want to get my bongos out and play them in the morning to wake up the neighbourhood. Not that I have any bongos, but if I did…

Kyla – Do You Mind

It’s sweet and it’s very sexy in an innocent kind of way and it’s so perfect in the club. Very flirty, flirty lyrics and obviously why it’s so great in the club.

Meleka – Go

Another club banger and another Crazy Cousinz production. Complete opposite lyrics to Kyla’s Do You Mind. A little bit harder and not flirty at all. Girl hate on boy story.

Egypt – In the Morning

Absolutely loved this tune when it came out and I still like it but I did not imagine that the girl behind the voice looked the way she does. Her nose is kind of big and that’s what I think about now when I hear the song. I shouldn’t have seen the video.

Done’o and Princess Nyah have also dropped a few hits but there are many one-hit-wonders in this genre such as Gracious K who got clubs to put their hands on their heads and do the Migraine Skank and K.I.G. with Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes.

Great place to listen to Funky House online is BBC Radio 1xtra. Great station to listen to hip hop, r’n’b, dancehall and probably d’n’b if you like that. Often it’s been where I heard many tunes first, depending on the show and the DJ. They also play some old classics so it’s not all new and not always that mainstream.

Leave a Reply

