IF I WANT TO WHISTLE, I WHISTLE

November 29, 2010

Yesterday was the last day of the Stockholm International Film Festival and I made it to four films. Waste Land, The Samba Within Me, Preludio and Eu când vreau să fluier, fluier which is Romanian for If I Want To Whistle, I Whistle, which I saw last night.

I got the opportunity to see four films that I probably wouldn’t have seen otherwise, two of which were documentaries, The Samba Within Me and Waste Land, see below.

Preludio, a story about an encounter of what could be the beginning of something grand was filmed in one single shot. From being a bit boring it got better and better and when it ended, I wanted more, but that is what a preludio can be.

If I Want To Whistle, I Whistle was the perfect end to my first ever film festival experience. That George Pistereanu, who played the main character, won the festival prize for best actor made it all more exciting to watch. And that he was really cute too was just the cherry on top of the ice-cream.

But his acting was really good, outstanding, very credible. Silviu, who is a few days from freedom jeopardizes his release to save his brother from being taken away by their mother.

It’s crazy but when one acts in desperation one will do anything in their power. Being a prisoner, your choices are limited.

It ends in violence and a hostage scenario.

Leave a Reply

