The Fighter

January 16, 2011

It’s that time of year again. Award season. Golden Globe later tonight. Oscars later next month. So, there are always lots of good films to watch around this time of year.

The Fighter is nominated for six Golden Globes and that should speak for itself. I’m not going to argue against it because it was great. I enjoyed it, I laughed and I cried.

It had all the essences a good film has to have and probably a little bit more than I would normally demand. Great story, some humour, some romance, action and a lot of drama. Great actors too of course.

Christian Bale was outstanding as Dicky Eklund, a former boxer turned trainer and it would really surprise me if he doesn’t win anything. Mark Wahlberg on the other hand, as Dicky’s half-brother, boxer Micky Ward, was good but was he great?

We will all know by tomorrow. The two actresses, Amy Adams as Micky’s girlfriend Charlene and Melissa Leo as the boys’ mother are also up for nomination.

I won’t stay up watching. Where I live it will be broadcast at 2 a.m. And I’m not one to watch the ceremonies anyway. I just want to know who won.

So, The Fighter is another boxing film and for some reason I like boxing when it’s in a film. Not that much otherwise.

Recently I read that they wanted to organise a fight between Mark Wahlberg and Will Smith. Micky Ward and Muhammad Ali. I don’t know if they going forward with it but that could be interesting to watch.

By the way, The Fighter is based on a true story. Ali was too. And so are many of the films that get nominated for those big fancy awards.

Leave a Reply

