The Alchemist

February 6, 2011

It’s magical and at times you will forget that it’s fiction. Actually, I was probably hoping, really wishing for, that some of it was reality.

Still, it’s a wise story about a Spanish shepherd boy on a journey through the North African desert to fulfill his destiny. He meets many wise men along the way and the love of his life.

I read The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho for the first time for about ten years ago and remembered that it was the best book I had ever read. At least one of the best. I was about 17-18 and had no idea what my destiny was. At the time I probably thought I knew.

I still don’t really know what my destiny is but I like to think that I have a better idea of what it could be.

A while ago I found an abandoned bag with books near a train station and picked up The Alchemist. I had forgotten what it was really about. I’m sure it was a sign that I should read it again.

Santiago, the shepherd boy learns to see the signs and understand them. The story will open your senses. At least for a while. Until then follow your dreams. But when you search for it, it may take you far away for you to later realise that it was around the corner.

Next time my memory fades I hope to have found a copy of The Alchemist in Portuguese. It’ll be interesting to read it in its original language. Like films that are dubbed, are always different when you hear the actors real voices.

3 Responses to “The Alchemist”


  1. […] The Alchemist (alittlebitofthisandalittlebitofthat.wordpress.com) […]


  2. […] The Alchemist (alittlebitofthisandalittlebitofthat.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

