Salty Chocolate (not balls)

May 7, 2011

Yes, I love chocolate. All kinds of chocolate. Lately, it’s been mostly dark chocolate. And chocolate with salt.

Nice combination. Really nice. Sweet and salt. A bit of smooth bitterness sweetness with salt. Add some nuts and it makes it even crunchier. Not that the salt per se is that crunchy.

So the one I really have fallen in love for is Karl Fazer’s Milk Chocolate With Roasted Salted Cashew Nuts. Obviously, it being milk chocolate, it’s a bit sweeter. But it’s the salted cashew nuts that I love. It’s just the right amount of crunch, salt and melting sweet cocoa.

When tasting Marabou Premium’s 70% Cocoa Sea Salt Pecan, I’d thought it would be saltier and nuttier. That’s the first bite. Once I get through a few pieces, it’s really good. It’s more chocolaty. It has more cocoa. It’s healthier. It has less crunch than Karl Fazer’s but in a good way.

It all depends on my mood. Sometimes I want something less sweet and less crunchy. And the benefit I get from dark chocolate is that one piece is enough to quench my thirst for my addiction.

Then the other one I ate a while ago was Lindt’s Excellence Dark A Touch of Sea Salt, which wasn’t bad but not great. Lindt is always good. Never had anything bad coming from them but it really was just a touch of sea salt. If you really focus on tasting the salt and put your mind into it, then you will.

Might have to go to the shops and see if I can find any other kinds of salty chocolate. Or just stick to what I know…

… nah that would be boring!

    

Leave a Reply

