Adele @ Debaser Medis

March 28, 2011

Expectations. Something I try to keep to a minimum but it all depends on the occasion. It can often result in disappointment. But I knew, Adele with her great voice, would be so much better live. Listening to her at home, I told my mum “Just imagine her singing live.”

So, yeah this time I had high expectations, and only realised it when my friend told me she didn’t expect her to be that good. We all got goosebumps and I’m getting goosebumps just thinking about it.

She’s got a remarkable talent and I love her Cockney accent.  When she talks, she’s just like any other London girl. I was wondering how it would be in between songs, remembering her youngish street yet mature style from being a commentator for X Factor’s Xtra Factor. She was very down-to-earth, cussing, joking and speaking her mind.

The night before the show she’d been to a bar, Vassa Eggen, telling she got very drunk and was the only one dancing to Beyoncé.  And later she said that she still can’t work out what to do with her body when singing her more uptempo songs. She was very funny getting the audience laughing several times and it was fun to know about her personal experiences, the reasons why she had written some of the songs and who and what they were about.

Daydreamer, about her first love. Take It All, about someone she hates. My Same, about a friend she fell out with, which she’s friends with again now and that she normally doesn’t perform it but was fun to do it now. I actually had it as my ring signal a while back so I was very happy to hear it.

It was Adele’s first time in Stockholm and I actually don’t know how famous she’s in Sweden. Hearing the people around, I heard some German, French, English and English with foreign accents. And maybe that’s why she was in such a small venue. Still, it was sold out.

I absolutely loved it. It could have been a bit longer. One hour wasn’t enough for me and she could at least have come back out for one or two extra songs.

Still, I can’t wait for the next album and the next tour. At only 21, greater things will come for the amazing Adele and I’m keeping my expectations high.

Adele performing one of my favourites, Hometown Glory. Such a perfect song to start with.

One Response to “Adele @ Debaser Medis”


  1. […] better when it’s live and 2011 has been a big year for me. Earlier this year I saw Sade, Adele and Blackstreet. And this summer, which is now over or is it still late summer, has been filled […]


Leave a comment